Fixture Builder: Where to find SPEED settings?

General discussion between Wolfmix owners. Checked occasionally by the Wolfmix support team.
chickje

Fixture Builder: Where to find SPEED settings?

Post by chickje »

I'm pretty new to the WolfMIx and getting to grips with the fixture builder. I've noticed that existing profiles have 'speed' channels but when building my own fixture profile, I can't find this anywhere. What am I missing?

Thanks in advance
axell

Re: Fixture Builder: Where to find SPEED settings?

Post by axell »

Speed settings can be found in EACH FX section (ColorFX / MoveFX / BeamFX) at the left rotary encoder to adjust the Speed.
You have 3 "sync" options in all 3 FX areas - push the Speed encoder to toggle between the 3 options:

1. fixed speed (clock symbol) in % - Here is NO BPM Speed shown. It is a fixed Speed adjusted with the Speed encoder.

2. BPM TAP speed (BPM+Note symbol). You tap the speed and can subdivide into ½ notes or ¼ notes or full notes etc. Here the BPM display is working!

3. Mic or Line In (Mic symbol). This setting is using either the built in microphone OR a 3.5mm audio jack Line level audio input when connected from the DJ booth or similar. Here, again, is no BPM display shown. The Audio (Mic or Line In) is purely a "pulse" recognition of the audio signal which is being transferred to the CPU to execute the next "step" at the next "pulse". (you want to adjust the mic/Line In level in the Wolfmix/WMX1 setting for best wave -pulse- recognition) - There is no BPM showing in this mode.

In addition in combination with your DJ Computer you have Ableton Link or OS2L (Open Sound-to-Light) available. If your DJ Software is supporting (correctly!!) either one, then you can enable the function on the DJ Software, start WTOOLS on the Computer and enable Ableton Link or OS2L (leave it active), and then the "data" from the DJ Software will be connected via WTOOLS to the Wolfmix/WMX1 which then is following the beats.